Ilija Rudman - The Reveal

Liner notes:

Here at Bearfunk HQ we firmly believe in perseverance. We keep asking questions until we get the right answer and with 6ft bear by our side the answer is usually yes. We kept asking Ilija Rudman to get in the studio and write us a killer LP but being the busy bee that he is it was hard for him to take the time out. We kept asking until he eventually caved in and went underground to record his first LP, 'The Reveal'.

Ilija is a devoted and passionate man when it comes to music. One of his prerequisites for recording an LP was that the recordings had to be made with the same techniques and equipment that inspired him to make music in the first place. So Ilija hooked up with one of his studio mentors and got his dream line-up of synthesizers, Roland Jupiter 4 & 8, Minimoog, Roland SH2, Juno 60 and his dream drum machines Linn and Oberheim DMX. These analogue machines fire up to create a warm and authentic vibe across the whole LP.

We are reminded here that machines do have soul if used properly. We start proceedings with the wigged out boogie of 'Inspectors Drive' which might be a little nod in the direction of Wally Badarou's classic 'Chief Inspector'.

We then get all Shep Pettibone with 'Victory 2010', 'I Dub You So Much' and 'Gentle Fire'. 'Prisoner Of Passion' has the same special melodic bliss as Maze's classic 'Twilight'. 'Show Me The Magic' and 'More Than A Memory' have all the ingredients of DJ friendly hits. The LP reveals all the influences that Ilija has experienced and it shows the talent that runs inside him as he is able to make such an amazingly retro LP sound like something from the future.

We're sure in years to come this LP could become as important as the influences that inspired Mr. Rudman to make it.

Release Date

Feb 14th, 2011


All Instruments, Recording, Mixing and Production by Ilija Rudman @ Synthetic Arts Studio April to September 2010.

Instruments used in making this album Roland Jupiter 8, Roland Jupiter 4, Minimoog, Oberheim Xpander, Yamaha FS1 R, Roland SH-2, Roland Juno 60, EMU III, Linn Drum, Oberheim DMX, EMU Sp 12, Fender Stratocaster. Mixed on MCI JH 534 D Console.

All tracks published by Dharma Songs

(p) & (c) Bearfunk 2011

  • 01. Inspectors Drive
  • 02. Victory 2010
  • 03. Prisoner Of Passion
  • 04. Congo Diamond
  • 05. I Dub You So Much
  • 06. Twenty Questions
  • 07. Show Me The Magic
  • 08. Romance Warrior
  • 09. Gentle Fire
  • 10. More Than A Memory
Buy CD Album £

LP (2x12")
  • A1. Inspectors Drive
  • A2. Victory 2010
  • B1. Prisoner Of Passion
  • B2. Congo Diamond
  • B3. I Dub You So Much
  • C1. Twenty Questions
  • C2. Show Me The Magic
  • D1. Romance Warrior
  • D2. Gentle Fire
  • D3. More Than A Memory
Buy 2 x 12" LP Album £

click here to visit and buy this download    click here to visit iTunes and buy this download