The Bank - Upper Class

Liner notes:

The Bank is a trio comprising of Francesco Brini, Domenico Loparco and Emanuele Zullo. Seriously good musician's with a love of afro & dub. These guys tour the world as the backing band for the acclaimed American singer / songwriter Jeff Jones. Brini has already built up an impressive catalogue of music himself, recording as Frank Agrario for Prins Thomas's Internasjonal and also as a drummer for electronic pioneers Swayzak.

After a heavy storm broke around Jeff's Lake Tahoe hideout, it was soon clear that they wouldn't be hitting the road anytime soon. This was a key moment in the construction of The Bank! They spent the time researching, sketching out ideas and extracting every last piece of funk from their fingers and thumbs.

The Bank is drenched in vintage recording techniques but with an updated production that can satisfy any dance floor. "Lagos Tahoe" sounds like Peter King jamming with Titanic but produced by The Bank. "City Of The Dead" touches the dub switch with a polite ska rhythm that calls on hypnotic vocals which remind us of 80's band Maximum Joy. "The Snatch" & "Chic Disco" are like funk bullets bouncing off the streets of Manhattan, "Zombie Nation" has a punky sharp synth bass that cuts through like a diamond encrusted blade. "Fishsticks" is the low slung funk bomb which would make Donald Byrd proud.

All together these new Bearfunk signings have made a very raw undiluted album. They are custodians of their own sound which is heavily influenced by their influences. It's time to cash that cheque at The Bank!

Release Date

AUgust 20th, 2012


The Bank are:
Domenico Loparco : Bass.
Emanuele Zullo : Guitar.
Francesco Brini : Drums, Percussions , Keyboards and Vocals.

Additional Recordings:
Diego Occhiali : Percussion on Lagos Tahoe.
Paolo Pugliese : Keyboards on Grey Boose & Fish Sticks.
Eric Matlok : Keyboards on Afro Sundays.
Jeff Jones : Vocal samples on Chic Disco.
Francesca Pizzo : Vocals on City of the dead.

Recorded, Mixed and Produced by Frank Agrario at Green Chile Studio, Incline Village (NV) USA & Spectrum Studio Bologna Italy.
Mastered by Mike Marsh @ The Exchange London.

All songs by The Bank.
Published by Dharma Songs.

(p) Bearfunk 2012
(c) Bearfunk 2012

  • 01. City Of The dead
  • 02. Zombie Nation
  • 03. Winka Wonka
  • 04. Afro Sundays
  • 05. The Grey Booze
  • 06. Chic Disco
  • 07. Fishsticks
  • 08. The Snatch
  • 09. Lagos Tahoe
Buy CD Album £

click here to visit and buy this download    click here to visit iTunes and buy this download

  • A1. City Of The dead
  • A2. Winka Wonka
  • A3. Afro Sundays
  • A4. The Grey Booze
  • B1. Zombie Nation
  • B2. Fishsticks
  • B3. Chic Disco
  • B4. Lagos Tahoe
Buy 1 x 12" LP £